Wednesday, April 3, 2019

WhatsApp Unveils New Privacy Setting

Enter your email address:

Live smarter with news you can use and info on social media trends.

WhatsApp will enable users to decide who can add them to groups through the new changes.

WhatsApp said in a press note on Wednesday that through the new privacy setting and invite system, users would have more control over the group messages they receive.
To restrict joining of new groups on WhatsApp, there will be the specific privacy setting that can be accessed by going to Account > Privacy > Groups from the WhatsApp settings menu and then three distinct options will be available on the screen, namely NobodyMy Contacts, and Everyone.
If you select the Nobody option, you'll have to approve joining every WhatsApp group to which you're invited. However, the My Contacts option will enable users you have in your address book to add you to groups. There will also be the Everyone option that won't add any restriction.
In case if you've selected the Nobody option, the person inviting you to a group will be asked to send you a private invite through an individual chat. The private invite will expire three days after its receipt. Moreover, similar would be the case if you will select the My Contacts option and someone who's not from your address book attempts to invite you to a group.

No comments:

Post a Comment